Democracy in Cameroon

[17-Aug-2016 18:46:00 CST6CDT] PHP Fatal error: Class 'PhpThumb' not found in /home/democra6/public_html/wp-content/plugins/special-recent-posts-2.4.7/lib/phpthumb/thumb_plugins/ on line 179 File is not a valid image: /home/customer/www/
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/
File is not a valid image: /home/customer/www/
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/
Image format not supported: image/webp
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/

Democracy Ratings

Freedom House 2018


6 out of 7

(where lower scores are more democratic)

Freedom Status:

Not Free

EIU Democracy Index 2017


7.88 out of 10

(where higher scores are more democratic)

World Ranking:


Polity IV 2016



(from -10 to 10, where higher scores are more democratic)


Closed Anocracy

Political System

System of Government Presidential system, with prime minister
Presidential Electoral System Two Round System
Last Presidential Election 2011
Next Presidential Election 2018
Presidential Term Limits No term limit (removed in 2008)
System of Appointment to Legislature

Lower Chamber: First past the post in single-member constituencies.  Mixture in multi-member constituencies: parties with over 50% get all seats. Alternatively, those with most get half of the constituency seats, with rest distributed through the largest remainder.

Upper Chamber: 70 indirectly elected through municipal councils. 30 appointed by the President.

Last Legislative Election


Next Legislative Election


Number of Seats in Legislature Lower Chamber: 180

Upper Chamber: 100

Female quota, representation in lower house No Legislated Quotas


Last presidential election (2011)
Candidate (Party) Votes (%)
1st round 2nd Round not Needed
Paul Biya 77.99
John Fru Ndi Ni 10.71
Garga Haman Adji 3.21
Adamou Ndam Njoya 1.73
Paul Abine Ayah 1.26
Edith Kahbang Walla 0.72
Albert Dzongang 0.55
Jean de Dieu Momo 0.49
Jean-Jacques Ekindi 0.45
Bernard Muna 0.38
Esther Dang 0.33
Olivier Anicet Bilé 0.31
Anicet Ekane 0.23
Victorin Hameni Bieuleu 0.22
Fritz Pierre Ngo 0.19
Jean Njeunga 0.19
Isaac Feuzeu 0.19
Hubert Kamgang 0.17
Simon Pierre Atangana Nsoe 0.17
Marcus Lontouo 0.16
George Dobgima Nyamndi 0.12
Joachim Tabi Owono 0.12
Daniel Soh Fone 0.1

Last legislative election (2013)    
Party Votes (%) Seats
Cameroon People’s Democratic Movement 82.2 148
Social Democratic Front 10.0 18
National Union for Democracy and Progress 2.8 5
Cameroon Democratic Union 2.2 4
Union of the Peoples of Cameroon 1.7 3
Cameroon Renaissance Movement 0.6 1
Movement for the Defence of the Republic 0.6 1
22 other parties 0.0 0

Cameroon on DiA

Taking lives: Living in Kleptoland?

16 February 2022

Khadija Sharife

How African countries respond to fake news and hate speech

9 December 2021

Lisa Garbe, Lisa-Marie Selvik, Pauline Lemaire

How to Revive Africa's Lost Civic Spaces

11 December 2020

Gbenga Sesan

How fighting fake news hurts free speech

29 September 2020

Ashwanee Budoo

Why the elections in Cameroon won't end the violence

10 February 2020

Gabriel Ngah Kiven, Cheryl Hendricks

REPORT: Gross Human Rights Abuses in the Anglophone Crisis - How to Respond

22 November 2019

Cameroon Anglophone Crisis Research Group

Cameroon: Let My People Go By Sissiku Julius Ayuktabe

1 August 2019

Sissiku Julius Ayuktabe

How do dictators keep power in Africa?

27 February 2019

Yonatan Morse

Podcast: Does Democracy Work for Africa?

5 November 2018

Nic Cheeseman

Africa in 2017: The political road ahead

23 January 2017

Nic Cheeseman

The state of democracy in Africa

14 August 2015

Nic Cheeseman

Join in the debate... let us know what you think!