Join the new “Ideas in African Politics” Network now!

Facebook Twitter Email

You are invited to join a new research network study of the history and impact of African political thought. The name for the network – Ideas in African Politics (IDAP) – reflects the fact that we are particularly interested in the question of how ideas and ideologies shape political institutions, attitudes, beliefs, and action. The network is intended to be explicitly and inherently interdisciplinary, including – but certainly not limited to – politics, history, sociology, political theory, anthropology, theology, philosophy, literature, African studies, development studies, and arts and culture.

The network will be inclusive and non-hierarchical – anyone who wants to can join, and decisions will be made as collectively as possible. It is hoped that the network will hold a series of online events culminating in a face-to-face workshop and series of co-authored publications, including a special issue of a relevant journal. In doing so, we are committed to working collaboratively with early-career researchers, especially those based on the African continent.

To join, simply send an email with your name, preferred email address, institutional affiliation, and relevant research interests to:

Join us!

Bashir Sa’ad Abdullahi, Wale Adeboye, David Anderson, Richard Asumah, Sammy Awami, Aghi Bahi, Stephen Chan, Mwita Chacha, Nic Cheeseman, Farai Chipato, Gordon Crawford, Christopher Day, Richard Dickson, Toyin Falola, Jonathan Fisher, Mayumi Fuchi, Zoe Groves, Lawrence Hamilton, Shireen Hassim, Billy Kahora, Kudakwashe Kamidza, Ikechukwu Kanu, Robert Hammond, Shakirah Hudani, Helen Liebling, Peter Lockwood, Tom Lowman, Trevor Lwere, Maureen Mapp, Adam Mayer, Peace Medie, Ismay Milford, Rose Miyonga, Jamal Mohammed, Daniel Munday, Reward Mushayabasa, Sam Chege Mwangi, Sabelo Ndlovu-Gatsheni, Stephanie Newell, Macro di Nunzio, Francis Nyamnjoh, Eric Njoroge, Paul Odhiambo, Fredrick Ogenga, Sam A. Onapa, Eghosa Osaghae, Tunde Oseni, Ian Caistor-Parker, Justin Pearce, Derek Peterson, Suren Pillay, Joshua Rees, Koffi Sawyer, Sishuwa Sishuwa, Kate Skinner, Moses Tofa, Oscar Ubhenin.

Some of the network’s activities will be funded through a Mid-Career Fellowship grant from the British Academy.

Join in the debate... let us know what you think!

Discover more from Democracy in Africa

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading