EVENT! Decoding #Digital Democracy in Africa round table & launch

0
2581
views
Facebook Twitter Email

DiA is delighted to be partnering with the Digital Civil Society Lab of Stanford University to hold a major event on Decoding #Digital Democracy in Africa.

The event will both bring together a brilliant panel of speakers from across Africa to discuss the interplay between new technology, politics and society, and will also launch the publication of the collection of briefs and articles that were recently published on the DiA website, which are being made freely available in easy to download PDF package. This new volume, published in collaboration with the Digital Civil Society Lab of Stanford University, contains cutting edge analysis on everything from fake news to internet shutdowns, and the role of Facebook to the fight for digital rights.

Decoding #Digital Democracy in Africa

June 16, 7pm EAT / 5pm BST/ 6pm SAST / 11am CDT / 9am PST. 

To register for the event, which will take place on Zoom, click here.

To download the publication, click here.

Bruce Mutsvairo, Professor of Journalism at Auburn University in the US, and co-author of Journalism, Democracy, and Human Rights in Zimbabwe

Nanjala Nyabola, independent researcher and writer and author of Digital Democracy, Analogue Politics

Julie Owono, Executive Director of Internet Without Borders, and a Member of the Facebook Oversight Board.

Herman Wasserman, Professor of Media Studies and the author of The Ethics of Engagement: Media, Conflict and Democracy in Africa

Chairs:

Lisa Garbe, researcher based at the political science institute at the University of St. Gallen and the co-editor of Decoding Digital Democracy in Africa

Toussaint Nothias, Associate Director of Research at the Digital Civil Society Lab, Stanford University, and the author of Access granted: Facebook’s free basics in Africa

Discussants

Nic Cheeseman is the Professor of Democracy at the University of Birmingham, the author of Democracy in Africa and the co-editor of Decoding Digital Democracy in Africa

Idayat Hassan is the director of the Centre for Democracy and Development and the co-author of Driving Division? Disinformation and the new media landscape in Nigeria

Join in the debate... let us know what you think!