Democracy in Sudan

[17-Aug-2016 18:46:00 CST6CDT] PHP Fatal error: Class 'PhpThumb' not found in /home/democra6/public_html/wp-content/plugins/special-recent-posts-2.4.7/lib/phpthumb/thumb_plugins/ on line 179 File is not a valid image: /home/customer/www/
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/
File is not a valid image: /home/customer/www/
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/
Image format not supported: image/webp
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/
Image format not supported: image/webp
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/
Image format not supported: image/webp
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/

Democracy Ratings

Freedom House 2018


7 out of 7

(where lower scores are more democratic)

Freedom Status:

Not Free

EIU Democracy Index 2017


2.15 out of 10

(where higher scores are more democratic)

World Ranking:


Polity IV 2016



(from -10 to 10, where higher scores are more democratic)


Closed Anocracy

Political System

System of Government Presidential
Presidential Electoral System Two-round system
Last Presidential Election 2015
Next Presidential Election 2020
Presidential Term Limits Two, five-year terms
System of Appointment to Legislature Lower Chamber: Multi-member constituencies through first past the post system

Single- and multi-member constituencies through proportional representation

Remaining seats are reserved for women

Upper Chamber: indirectly elected through state legislatures

Last Legislative Election


Next Legislative Election


Number of Seats in Legislature Lower Chamber: 450Upper Chamber: 50
Female quota, representation in lower house Yes: reserved seats


Last presidential election (2015)
Candidate (Party) Votes (%)
1st round 2nd round not needed
Omar al-Bashir 94.05
Fadl el-Sayed Shuiab 1.43
Fatima Abdel Mahmoud 0.85
Mohamed Elhassan Mohamed 0.76
Abdul Mahmoud Abdul Jabar Rahamtalla 0.74
Hamdi Hassan Ahmed 0.32
Mohamed Ahmed Abdul Gadir Al Arbab 0.30
Yasser Yahiya Salih Abdul Gadir 0.30
Khairi Bakhit 0.21
Adel Dafalla Jabir 0.17
Mohamed Awad Al Barow 0.17
Asad Al Nil Adel Yassin Al Saafi 0.17
Alam Al Huda Ahmed Osman Mohamed Ali 0.15
Ahmed Al Radhi Jadalla Salem 0.14
Isaam Al Ghali Tajj Eddin Ali 0.14
Omar Awad Al Karim Hussein Ali 0.11


Last legislative election (2015)    
Party Votes (%) Seats
National Congress 83.37% 107
Democratic Unionist Party–Original 4.82% 6
Collective Leadership Umma Party
Democratic Unionist Party 2.65% 3
Federal Umma Party 2.07% 3
Freedom and Justice Party 0.71% 1
United Umma Party 1.23% 2
Umma Reform and Development Party 0.87% 1
National Umma Party
Federal Truth Party 0.64% 1
National Bond Party 0.83% 1
National Freedom and Justice Party
Constitution Party 0.77% 1
Movement for Justice and Equality Party 0.36% 0
National Reform Party 0.58% 1
Popular Forces for Rights and Democracy Movement Party 0.53% 1
Justice Party
National Movement for Peace and Development Party 0.28% 0
Sudanese Socialist Democratic Union
People’s Movement Party 0.30% 0
Sudanese National Front Party
Sudanese Socialist Union Party al-Maywa
Centre Party for Justice and Development
General Federation of North and South Funj
Ana al-Sudan
Black Free

Sudan on DiA

The Return of the Islamist Regime in Sudan?

22 July 2022

Katarzyna Rybarczyk

The scourge of popular coups in Africa

21 February 2022

Mwita Chacha


7 October 2021

Calum Booth & Nic Cheeseman

How to Revive Africa's Lost Civic Spaces

11 December 2020

Gbenga Sesan

Facebook’s ongoing scramble for Africa

29 September 2020

Toussaint Nothias

Beyond the Dam: Sustaining the Nile Watershed

3 August 2020

Yohannes Woldemariam

Revolutionary Dilemmas in Sudan

7 June 2019

Willow Berridge

Environmental Conflict andHow to Resolve It

19 November 2011

Nic Cheeseman

Join in the debate... let us know what you think!