Democracy in Mauritania

[17-Aug-2016 18:46:00 CST6CDT] PHP Fatal error: Class 'PhpThumb' not found in /home/democra6/public_html/wp-content/plugins/special-recent-posts-2.4.7/lib/phpthumb/thumb_plugins/ on line 179 File is not a valid image: /home/customer/www/
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/
File is not a valid image: /home/customer/www/
Problem detected on file: /home/customer/www/

Democracy Ratings

Freedom House 2018


5.5 out of 7

(where lower scores are more democratic)

Freedom Status:

Not Free

EIU Democracy Index 2017


3.82 out of 10

(where higher scores are more democratic)

World Ranking:


Polity IV 2016



(from -10 to 10, where higher scores are more democratic)


Closed Anocracy


Political System

System of Government Semi-Presidential
Presidential Electoral System Two-round system
Presidential Term Limits Two, five-year terms
Last Presidential Election 2014
Next Presidential Election 2019
System of Appointment to Legislature

Lower Chamber: Single seat constituencies

Upper Chamber: 53 elected by municipal councils

3 elected by Mauritanians abroad

Last Legislative Election


Next Legislative Election


Number of Seats in Legislature Lower Chamber: 81

Upper Chamber: 56

Female quota, representation in lower house Yes: legislated candidate quotas


Last presidential election (2014)
Candidate (Party) Votes (%)
1st round 2nd round not needed
Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz 81.89
Biram Dah Abeid 8.67
Boïdiel Ould Houmeit 4.5
Ibrahima Moctar Sarr 4.44


Last legislative election (2013)    
Party Votes (%) Seats
Union for the Republic 55.11 22
Tewassoul 13.75 4
People’s Progressive Alliance 4.42 0
Burst of Youth for the Nation 5.72 0
El Wiam 5.03 2
Union for Democracy and Progress 3.74 0
El Karam 2.21 0
El Vadila
Party of Unity and Development 6.52 0
Party of Mauritanian Authenticity 55.11 22
Socialist Democratic Unionist Party 13.75 4
Ravah Party
Republican Party for Democracy and Renewal
Democratic Justice Party
Dignity and Action Party
National El Inma Party
Democratic Renovation
People’s Rally Party
Popular Front
Democratic Social Union Party
Partie Congre de Mauritanie
Democratic Socialist Party
Mauritanian Hope Party
Mauritanian Party for Renewal
Democratic Peace and Progress Party
Shura Party for Development
Democratic People’s Party
El Islah
Rally for Equality Party
People’s Democratic Party
Mauritanian Liberal Democratic Party
Rally for Unity Party
National Agreement Party
Parti RibatDémocratique et Social
PMC and CPR Coalition
National Union for Democracy and Development
Mauritanian People’s Movement Party
Democratic Consultation Party
Dialogue and Democracy Party
Equity and Defence of Right Party
Union for the Construction of Mauritania
Third Generation Party
Democratic Union of Youth
Civilisation and Development Party
Alliance for Democracy in Mauritania
National Democratic Union
Direct Democracy Union
Mauritanian Party for Reform and Equality
Union of the Democratic Center
Party of Labour and Equality
New Vision Party
Mauritanian Party for Democracy and Prosperity
Mauritanian Party for Justice and Democracy
Coalition of Mauritanians for the Fatherland
Mauritanian Party for Justice and Development
Party for a Contemporary Mauritania
Union of Social Forces
Rally of National Youth
Generation of a Democratic Future Party
Social Democratic Party
Wava Mauritanian Party


Mauritania on DiA

Join in the debate... let us know what you think!